Showing 1646 results

Corporate body

Technical University of British Columbia. Board of Governors

  • Corporate body
  • 1997 - 2002

Established by the "Technical University of British Columbia Act" on December 5, 1997, the Board of Governors was the principal decison-making body at the University. It was composed of the Chancellor, the President, two teaching staff members, eight people appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, two students, and one university employee who was not a teaching staff member. According to the Act, the Board was mandated to "approve strategic program and research directions and policies"; make decisions concerning TechBC programs and program areas; and provide reports to the appropriate Ministry as necessary. The Board was also responsible for appointing a President for the University. Its first meeting was on December 12, 1997. The Board had a number of standing committees; these were the Academic Planning Board, Audit Committtee, Business and Finance Committee, Executive Committee, Human Resources Committee, and Senior Compensation Committee. Other committees established by the Board were the University Review Committee and the Presidential Search Committee. In light of the Provincial Government's February 2002 decision to close TechBC, the Board began the process of dissolving its committees at its March 11, 2002 meeting. The final meeting of the Board took place on July 31, 2002.

Results 61 to 90 of 1646